Strawberriiiiies

It seems like we skipped spring and went straight to summer.  Today was in the high 80s, but that’s how Georgia does it eh?  I’m not complaining, I absolutely loooooove the warm weather.  Nothing stopping me from being outside.  Easter was lovely spent at Callaway Gardens.  I need to go back when their organic veggie garden is open for business!

Strawberries are in season and cheeeeap!  Right now I’m sipping on a strawberry smoothie and it would be morally wrong not to share.  It’s pretty simple :

1 cup water

1 overflowing cup frozen strawberries

1 tablespoon chia seeds (optional)

1 tablespoon agave or honey OR 1/2 teaspoon stevia

A splash of natural vanilla extract

Blend everything together and BAM: springtime in your mouth.  You could of course use raw nut milk for a creamier, richer, more decadent shake.

I vow to try this smoothie by http://www.rawfamily.com/recipes.htm someday simply because of the awesome name.  I want a party in my mouth….who doesn’t?  Really?

Party in Your Mouth Green Smoothie

Sergei Boutenko
1 small pineapple, cored
1 large mango, peeled
½ head romaine lettuce
½ inch fresh ginger root
Yields 2 quarts

Lunch was simple cabbage and carrots.  Kind of like a cole-slaw.  As simple as it sounds I’ve been loooovin it lately.  I love tart so throwing some Apple Cider Vinegar on it makes it just right for me.

Dinner?  This wonderful raw lasagna recipe I found on http://goneraw.com/node/4974 by elizabethh.  I’ll write out the recipe since I messed with it a bit.  I have a beautiful picture I took of it, but can’t get it on here right now.

Raw “Lasagna”:  

1 1/2 cups cashews, soaked at least 1 hour

1 1/2 tablespoons lemon juice

3 teaspoons nutritional yeast

1/2 teaspoon celtic sea salt

1/2 teaspoon fresh black pepper

1 teaspoon fresh finely chopped basil

1/2 teaspoon of fresh minced garlic

1 long and thick zucchini , peeled, and sliced into thin, wide strips with a peeler or mandoline

2 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

1 dash celtic salt

portabella mushroom caps, sliced into thin, wide and long slices

1 big tomato, sliced into thin, wide slices (make sure it’s a juicy one)

1 cup spinach spinach, chopped

What to do:

Whirl the cashews, lemon juice, yeast, salt, pepper, basil, and garlic all together in a blender or food processor.  You won’t it to be pretty smooth, but it’s ok if it has some cashew chunks to give it more of a ricotta texture.

Rub the olive oil into the zucchini slices. Set aside.

Rub the leftover olive oil into the mushrooms and spinach.  You can add additional sea salt if you like.

Create layers: Zucchini, cheese, tomatoes, mushrooms, spinach.  Repeat until you’ve used everything.

Dehydrate at 130 for an hour.  Don’t leave it at 130 longer for an hour as this would cause the food to actually reach that temperature and defeat the entire purpose of eating it raw in order to keep the enzymes.  After an hour at 130 reduce to 110 for 30-1 hour.

If I didn’t have a dehydrator I would definitely consider making this by wrapping Aluminum foil on top and setting it outside.  Sounds crazy but I think it’s hot enough.  : D

I’m going to make this for my raw potluck, as well as some other goodies like raw samoas.  I also have to share my raw chocolate recipe!  If you’re lucky!

Off to conquer the night,

Renee



6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by aspire2inspire on April 12, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    Renee,

    This is sooo AWESOME!!!
    Truly LOVE your Rawlicious Blog!!!

    Our dd (Rose) ran home to check it out right away
    last night. She loves your blog flowers.

    I cannot wait to see what you post about your
    raw potluck!! Beautiful weather, Great company,
    and Food for the body, mind, and soul….to top it
    off….this all took place engulfed in the arms of
    Mother Nature!!! 🙂

    Much Laughter and Many Smiles!!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by aspire2inspire on April 12, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    Renee,

    This is sooo AWESOME!!!
    Truly LOVE your Rawlicious Blog!!!

    Our dd (Rose) ran home to check it out right away
    last night. She loves your blog flowers.

    I cannot wait to see what you post about your
    raw potluck!! Beautiful weather, Great company,
    and Food for the body, mind, and soul….to top it
    off….this all took place engulfed in the arms of
    Mother Nature!!! 🙂

    Much Laughter and Many Smiles!!!

    Reply

  3. Posted by april on April 21, 2010 at 2:07 pm

    Hey,
    I didn’t know you were posting more blogs, where have I been? :o) I think I should try that “setting the lasagna outside thing” since I don’t have a dehydrator, lol. Keep posting. :o)

    Reply

    • Lol. The cheese in the lasagna is sooo good. You could make that, then thinly slice zuchinii, spread the cheese on the slices, roll it up and you’ve got a sort of stuffed pasta. 🙂 Yum.

      Reply

  4. Posted by ReShonda Parker on May 7, 2010 at 11:36 am

    Hey Renee: )! Told you yesterday That I would come check you out and I am really enjoying your blogs. I can’t wait to try the lasagna recipe! The Samosa cookies look great too! I am trying to do more raw these days and it can be a challenge since I can only use organic ingredients. Just not too much here in Columbus. Well I better go get my son up for school, I know I will see you soon! Have a great day 🙂

    Reply

  5. Posted by james5555 on June 29, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    Hey Renee! I make a green smoothie with strawberries as well. You are right, really really good! It makes a great raw food breakfast!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

